Tim Murphy


One of the game's finest teachers and motivators over the last quarter-century, Murphy is Harvard’s all-time winningest coach, and since the formation of the Ivy League in 1956, only one Ivy coach has compiled more wins than his 156. His Harvard teams have captured nine Ivy League championships (1997, 2001, ’04, ’07, ’08, ’11, '13, '14, '15) and have combined to own the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision’s best record over the last 15 seasons (123-26, .826).

Murphy is the first Harvard coach since the iconic Percy Haughton to lead the Crimson to three unbeaten, untied seasons in his tenure (2001, '04, '14). Having previously coached five seasons at Cincinnati and two at Maine, Murphy owns career records of 188-108-1 overall, 156-63 with the Crimson and 17-5 in The Game, the annual rivalry tilt between Harvard and Yale.

A six-time selection as New England Coach of the Year (1988, ’97, 2001, ’04, ’11,' 14), Murphy was the American Football Monthly Division I-AA National Coach of the Year in 2004 and was also honored as a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award for the top FCS coach nationally in 2001, ’04 and ’11. He was the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston Head Coach of the Year in 2001 and ’11 and has also been recognized as the American Football Coaches Association District I Coach of the Year (2001) and the Scotty Whitelaw ECAC Division I-AA Coach of the Year (1997). Murphy was also named the inaugural recipient of the Ivy League Coach of the Year Award in 2014.

National Sponsors